The barn was built in 1924 by Arthur and Minnie Rogers, originally from Ireland. They bought the then 13 acres of waterfront property and started a dairy farm. It sold several times and became a milking barn for Main’s Farm. In 1962 an architect and his wife from New Jersey started the conversion from barn to house.
The property was sold to a local family in 2003 who completed the conversion and added their own vision to the unique home and gardens, creating the Dungeness Barnhouse Bed & Breakfast. After two summers of working with the previous owner, the current owners (Clare and Sue) purchased the Dungeness Barnhouse Bed and Breakfast in the fall of 2014.